Drama, Drama, Drama

As we all know our EDC3100 professional experience is fast approaching which I am really excited for. I found out the school I was going to some weeks ago and I’ve already been to the school to see the Deputy Principal and I am going back again next week to catch up again. I am really looking forward to it as I have thoroughly enjoyed all of my pracs so far. The school I am going to is also an Independent school which will make my experience even more interesting as I have done two pracs in State schools and one in a Catholic school so this one will be really interesting.

I am worried however that this prac has to incorporate specific lessons that heavily use ICT. My first worry with this is that I don’t even know what access the school and students have to ICT which could be a massive hurdle to face. This is a discussion that I intend on having with the Deputy Principal next week so hopefully that will be all sorted than and that will be one less thing to worry about.

My second worry is trying to embed ICT into a drama classroom. Elly wrote in her blog called ‘Change of Plans’ that she has changed her assignment topic from drama to geography because drama can be somewhat difficult to use ICT. So thinking of this I decided to do some research on how to embed ICT into a drama classroom. In doing this research I came across Karla’s blog, she is an English and Drama teacher which is perfect because that is what I am aspiring to be.

Karla’s blog titled ‘Simple Ways to Integrate ICT and the Drama Logbook’ said that creating a digital portfolio is one way of embedding ICT in drama. Reflecting upon this I thought what a wonderful idea this is, as the students learn Elements of Drama and Conventions they could film themselves presenting the Element or Convention, annotate this and add it to their portfolio; an easy way to keep track of everything.

The QCAA also state many different ideas on how to use ICT in Senior Secondary drama classes, in particular for ICT. The syllabus lists suggestions for examples of assessment for Forming and Responding Dimensions in drama (QCAA, 2013).

Hopefully this research along with discussions with my mentor will allow me to successfully embed ICT in my drama classes.

Ella.

QCAA. (2013). Drama Senior Syllabus. Retrieved 27 April, 2016, from https://www.qcaa.qld.edu.au/downloads/senior/snr_drama_2013_syll.pdf 

Leave a comment