Screen Time

holland-balance-screentime-flickr

(Picture retrieved 10 May, 2016, from http://www.edutopia.org/blog/balance-of-screen-time-beth-holland )

Looking at Week 10’s Learning Path the concept of how much screen time a person or people have was discussed. I thought this was interesting and so I looked into it further.

The American Academy of Paediatrics (AAP) identifies that children aged 3- 18 year olds should limit themselves to 2 hours of screen time a day (Altarum Institute, 2013). I find this to be unbelievable, as Courtney Howlett commented in her post ‘Recommended Screen Time…’ she was 18 last year and trying to complete university, I was in the same boat as I also was 18 last year. It is ludicrous to think that 2 hours of screen time a day would be anywhere near sufficient enough to complete a university degree.

This year I decided to change to an online student as I was sick of the constant travelling to Toowoomba which would amount in over 2 hours of driving every day I had classes to attend. Therefore I rely heavily on my laptop to engage in classes because that is my only means to involve myself in the four classes I am enrolled in.

But screen time for me is more than just my university life, it is how I talk to my loved ones who I do not live with and a way that I watch TV and movies which is something I enjoy doing. Take today for example, I have watched 7 episodes of Grey’s Anatomy each episode approximately going for 42 minutes which means that for 5 hours of my day I have been watching this. Don’t judge me for that because I find the only way I can do uni work is to have a TV show playing, so I’ve been doing uni for the day which is why I have watched so much TV. Along with this I have checked Facebook and chatted with loved ones. I know I spend a lot of time in front of a screen.

Ella.

Altarum Institute. (2013). Digital Childhood: Realistic Screen Time Limits for Children. Retrieved 10 May, 2016, from http://altarum.org/health-policy-blog/digital-childhood-realistic-screen-time-limits-for-children

3 thoughts on “Screen Time

Leave a Reply

